FAQs & Resources

What is Negligence?
Negligence is any conduct that falls below the standards of care established by law for the protection of others against unreasonable risk of harm.

In other words, negligence is the failure of a responsible party to exercise that degree of care which a reasonably prudent person would exercise under the circumstances.

Auto Accident No-Fault Benefits
After an auto accident, the first question on every accident victim's mind is, "How am I going to pay my medical bills if I can't work?"

Fortunately, Massachusetts has a no-fault system which requires vehicles to carry Personal Injury Protection Benefits insurance (also called PIP).

PIP pays up to a total of $8,000 to you or anyone you let drive your car, anyone living in your household, passengers, and pedestrians, no matter who caused the accident. You are entitled to PIP benefits no matter whose fault the accident was, and PIP insurance guarantees that the first $2,000 of your medical bills will be paid. If you do not have private health insurance, PIP will pay up to $8,000 in medical benefits.

How Are My Wages Getting Paid If I Cannot Work?
PIP benefits entitle you to receive 75% of any wages you lost due to the accident, up to $8,000.

Auto Accidents Involving Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists
In Massachusetts, any insurance company selling auto insurance is required to offer uninsured motorist insurance as part of every policy.

Uninsured motorist insurance coverage may be of assistance if you and/or your passengers are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured driver, or by someone who fled the scene of the accident (hit and run). Uninsured coverage works as if the at-fault driver was insured.

A Massachusetts auto policy may also include underinsured coverage. Underinsured coverage may be of assistance in compensating you for your injuries if the at-fault operator does not have sufficient bodily injury coverage to compensate you for your injuries. Again, underinsured coverage works as if the at-fault driver is adequately insured.

What are the Attorney Fees?
Personal injury cases are handled on a contingent fee basis.

This means you only pay your attorney if we are successful in recovering monies for you by way of a settlement, judgment or award. The attorney then receives a percentage of the settlement, judgment, or award plus out-of-pocket expenses. You do not pay us until the end of the case and the monies are recovered.

It will not cost you anything to talk to an attorney to determine whether you have a veritable claim.

What is a Traumatic Brain Injury?
A traumatic brain injury (TBI) is caused by an unexpected force to the head, either by the head hitting an object splitting the skull and coming into contact with the brain. A TBI can also be caused when the head suddenly stops, causes the brain to strike the skull, without ever striking any object.

Suffering a traumatic brain injury can change the victim's life forever. There are many serious consequences that result from a brain injury, which may include:
  • Attention Impairment
  • Cognition Impairment
  • Language Impairment
  • Memory Impairment
  • Conduct Disorder
  • Motor Disorder
  • Paralysis
  • Perception Difficulties
  • Mood Changes
  • Seizures
  • Depression
  • Difficulty Concentrating
  • Spastic Muscles
Statute of Limitations
Every state has certain time limits, also known as "statutes of limitations" that govern the time period within which you must file a lawsuit. These time periods vary depending upon the type of accident that you have been involved in and who the claim is being brought against.

It is important to be aware that a person may be precluded from pursuing their claim if notice and/or filing deadlines are not met.

Workers Compensation and Third Party Claims
When a worker is injured on the job in Massachusetts, he or she often cannot make a claim against the employer for pain and suffering caused by work related injuries, as those must be handled in a workers’ compensation claim under the Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Act. An injured worker or bystander may recover damages when a “third party” has been negligent, careless, or reckless. A third party is a person who is not employed by the same company as the victim. These “third party claims”, are not covered entirely by the Massachusetts Workers Compensation Act, allowing the injured victim to recover monetary compensation from the third parties responsible for their injuries, including compensation for physical and emotional pain and suffering, and other losses.